Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Virginia Department of Corrections — Public Safety First

Community Corrections

Community Corrections consists of a central office staff to support the field, three regional offices statewide supervising Probation and Parole Districts, and Community Facilities which consists of Detention Centers and Diversion Centers.

Community Corrections' primary goal is public safety. In Virginia, public safety is defined as the quality of life that allows our citizens to feel secure in their everyday lives by being free from danger, injury and damage caused by those who choose not to obey the law. Our approach to this goal through professional supervision of offenders under our purview is "A Balanced Approach." This practice emphasizes the dual role of providing supervision and services for probationers and parolees.

Parole was abolished in Virginia for felonies committed on or after January 1, 1995. The parole decision function and supervision is provided to offenders who committed felonies before that date. Probation supervision and post release probation supervision for sentenced offenders who the judge feels needs 6 months to 3 years of probation supervision upon release are still available for offenders who fall under the new parole abolishment law.

In addition, Virginia provides a wide range of residential and non-residential sanction and sentencing options.

Parolees and Probationers - Offenders in the Community

Probation and Parole Offices and Special Program Facilities

Virginia Map icon Community Corrections Office Map

Community Facilities
The Regional Directors are responsible for the management and direction of the four Diversion Center Programs and the three Detention Center Incarceration Programs. These facilities are 4-6 months residential programs with a heavy emphasis on treatment services and work.

Community Facilities Directory

Regional Offices
Community Corrections has three regional offices (Western, Central and Eastern) providing supervision of 43 District Offices, 12 state-operated facilities, and oversight for 11 privately-contracted community residential centers.

Serving the following localities in the Western Region:


Cities and Towns:

Western Region Office Directory

Serving the following localities in the Central Region:


Cities and Towns:

Central Region Office Directory

Serving the following localities in the Eastern Region:


Cities and Towns:


Eastern Region Office Directory