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COMPLIANCE

This operating procedure applies to all units operated by the Virginia Department of Corrections. Practices and
procedures must comply with applicable State and Federal laws and regulations, ACA standards, PREA standards,
and DOC directives and operating procedures.
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DEFINITIONS

220 Work Day Year - The maximum possible number of commuting days in the year; this is derived by
subtracting all weekends, all state holidays, two weeks sick leave, and two weeks annual leave from 365 days

Base Point - Designated place, office, or building where the employee performs their duties on a routine basis;
multiple base points are not allowed.

Central Workplace - The employees main work location, where the employee is normally located for work

Commuting - Use of a state-owned or leased passenger-type vehicle by an employee for travel between home or
parking location and base point (office), while not in travel status.

Office of Fleet Management Services - The agency authorized by law to purchase passenger-type vehicles from
which state agencies lease vehicles as needed.

Official State Business in Relation to Commuting - When an operator, while driving a state vehicle, makes
necessary business stops directly related to the employee’s duties in the travel between home and official work
station (in either direction)

Organizational Unit Head - The person occupying the highest position in a DOC unit, such as a correctional
facility, regional office, probation and parole office, Virginia Correctional Enterprises, Academy for Staff
Development, Corrections Construction Unit, Agribusiness Unit, and individual headquarters unit e.g., Human
Resources, Offender Management, Internal Audit.

Parking Location - The designated place where an individually assigned state vehicle is to be routinely parked
when not in use; the parking location may be the employee’s base point or other location as determined by the
supervisor.

State Vehicle - Any motor vehicle owned by any state agency or leased from the Office of Fleet Management
Services or a commercial leasing company by a state agency

Vehicle Use - The purpose for which a vehicle is driven, such as transport of persons in custody, internal
investigations, trips to the post office, training, meetings, on-site purposes at the facility, etc.
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PURPOSE

This operating procedure provides guidance for the proper use and reporting of Department of Corrections (DOC)
employees operating state vehicles between their residence and their official workstation.

PROCEDURE

Individual Assignment and Use of a State Vehicle

A. The purchase, assignment, use, and maintenance of state vehicles are to be determined solely according

B.

to whether it will promote safety, efficiency, and economy in state government.

The Department of Corrections (DOC) may assign a state vehicle to any position when such assignment
is beneficial to the DOC due to the job duties requiring frequent travel or access to specialized equipment
to be used at multiple locations.

. An assignment of a state vehicle and parking location will be documented and approved on an Assignment

of State Vehicle and Parking Location 323 _F3. The vehicle assignment and parking location must be
reviewed at least annually and within 30 days of a change in the employee’s work duties.

. The position assigned a state vehicle will be responsible to ensure the maintenance and care of the vehicle

is provided in accordance with the Office of Fleet Management Services (OFMS) Policies and Procedures
Manual and Operating Procedure 323.1, Vehicle Operations and Maintenance.

. When it does not interfere with the individual employee’s duties, the assigned vehicle should be made

available to other DOC employees as needed to conduct DOC business.

Authorization to Commute in a State Vehicle

A. In accordance with COV 82.2-1178, Use of passenger-type vehicles on an assigned basis, COV §2.2-

1179, Use of vehicles for commuting, and Executive Order 89 (2005) Purchase, Assignment and Use of
State-Owned Vehicles, the Director has authorized specific positions as eligible to commute in a state
vehicle; see Attachment 1, DOC Authorized Commuter List.

. No other employee will be allowed to use a state vehicle to drive between their base point and their

residence or parking location other than while in travel status in accordance with Operating Procedure
240.1, Travel.

. DOC employees who are assigned to be on-call to respond to public safety critical incidents based on a

rotating schedule are authorized to commute in a state vehicle under the following conditions.

1. “On-call to respond to public safety critical incidents based on a rotating schedule” refers to
assignments such as institutional buildings and grounds staff on-call for response to maintenance
emergencies and P&P Officers on-call for response to electronic monitoring failures for
probationers/parolees under community supervision.

2. The employee may use a state vehicle and be considered in commute status. If the employee on-call
is not required to respond to an emergency and drives the vehicle from home to their worksite, the
employee will be required to pay the daily commute fee consistent with OFMS procedures.

3. If the employee, other than a facility Administrative Duty Officer, elects not to use a state vehicle, they
may be reimbursed for round trip mileage in their personal vehicle from home to their worksite or
other emergency location.

4. A facility Administrative Duty Officer is authorized to use a state vehicle for commutes between their
residence and the facility for one round trip for each time they report to the facility beyond their regular
5-day work schedule.

a. A facility Administrative Duty Officer cannot be reimbursed for commutes in their personal
vehicle.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS Page 4 of 8




Operating Procedure 323.2, Commuting in a State Vehicle Effective Date: September 1, 2021

b. A facility Administrative Duty Officer is a member of the senior management team of a facility
who is assigned on a rotating basis to remain in contact with on-duty staff at the unit and to visit
the facility at least once during the week of duty at a time other than the staff member’s normal
working hours and days; see Operating Procedure 401.3, Administrative Duty Coverage.

D. Persons under a court-ordered or administrative driving restriction or charged with a DUI Related Offense
as described in Operating Procedure 040.1, Litigation must not operate a state or state-paid rental vehicle.

1. If no court ordered or administrative driving restrictions exist, employees who have been charged with
violating any of the above code sections will be considered for mileage reimbursement in their personal
vehicle pending disposition of their case and at the discretion of the Director or his designee.

2. Upon conviction of any of the above charges, the employee will be prohibited from operating a state
vehicle or state-paid rental vehicle until authorized by the Director or his designee. To be considered
to operate a state vehicle there must be no court-ordered or administrative restrictions.

I1l.  Authorized Use of State Vehicle While Commuting

A. Personal use of a state vehicle will be strictly limited to transportation between base point and home in
either direction.

B. Despite reimbursement to the Commonwealth for this limited and specific personal use, no other personal
use is authorized.

C. No passengers with or without commuting privileges may ride in the vehicle with the authorized operator
while commuting between base point and home.

IV. Reimbursement to State and Reporting Requirements

A. Costs associated with the use of state vehicles for commuting will be recovered from employees except
for specific employees with designated law enforcement duties; see Attachment 1, Authorized Commuter
List.

B. Any other DOC employee commuting in a state vehicle must reimburse the Commonwealth through
semimonthly payroll deduction for all commuting mileage at a rate established by the Commonwealth.

C. All employees authorized to commute in a state vehicle must complete and file an approved Commuting,
Payroll Deduction Authorization GS-2 323_F2 with the DOC General Services Unit (GSU) upon
eligibility to commute or change in location. In completing this form:

1. Anemployee commuting on a routine basis may elect to take the maximum number of trips/deduction
which would reflect 220 days of commute per year (440 one way trips) and result in a fixed fee and
no submission of daily logs.

2. An employee who is uncertain of their total number of trips for the year may opt to indicate an
estimated number of trips in each direction and turn in daily logs to verify the estimates.

3. An authorized employee who does not anticipate any commutes for the year may file a Commuting,
Payroll Deduction Authorization GS-2 323_F2 indicating zero commutes and if there are subsequent
commutes, submit a daily log in the months which they occur.

D. Individual fee determination will be performed in the GSU upon receipt of a Commuting, Payroll
Deduction Authorization GS-2 323 F2 from the commuter.

E. The Commuting Daily Log GS-1 323 _F1 must be submitted:

1. By an approved employee who proposed an estimated number of trips, for every month, regardless of
whether or not a commute was made in that month.

2. By an employee who proposed zero commuting trips for the year, only in the months in which a
commute occurs.
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3. Unless the specific employee is exempt from commuting fees based on designated law enforcement
duties; see Attachment 1, DOC Authorized Commuter List.

F. Although the DOC encourages all commuting personnel to maintain a commuting log for IRS purposes,
the submission of a commuting log is not required when the operator has submitted a signed Commuting,
Payroll Deduction Authorization authorizing the maximum fixed deduction for 220 days of commute per
year between home and official work station.

G. All commuting accounts will be closed out at the end of each fiscal year.

1. If it is determined that the actual payroll deduction was too much based on actual commuting trips
reported on daily logs, the DOC will reimburse the employee for the overage.

2. Ifitis determined that the payroll deduction was too little, the employee will reimburse the DOC via
personal check within ten working days of being notified to do so.

3. Amounts less than one dollar will not be collected or reimbursed.

V.  Determining Base Point, Parking Location, and Travel/Commuting Status

A. For individual DOC employees that are assigned a state vehicle, the Base Point, Parking Location, and
Commuting eligibility will be determined by the employee’s Unit Head and the employee subject to
review by the Unit Head’s Supervisor, the DOC Fleet Manager, and audit authorities.

1. Such determinations will be in accordance with the Code of Virginia, the OFMS Policies and
Procedures Manual, the Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures (CAPP) Manual, this
operating procedure, and any other relevant procedures.

2. All such determinations will be made to the benefit of the DOC. Employee convenience and
preference can be considered only to the extent that it does not add cost to DOC operations.

3. These determinations will be documented on an Assignment of State Vehicle and Parking Location
323 F3

B. The Base Point is the designated place, office, or building where the employee performs his/her duties on
a routine basis (Central Workplace for teleworkers); multiple base points are not allowed.

1. Generally, the Base Point will be the headquarters, regional office, facility, or probation and parole
office/sub-office to which the employee is assigned.

2. Only employees who work totally from their home and state vehicle may have their home designated
as their Base Point.

C. The Parking Location is the designated place where an individually assigned state vehicle is to be routinely
parked when not in use.

1. The Parking Location will generally be the same as the Base Point unless the employee is eligible to
commute.

2. Other Parking Locations may be designated when the alternate location is to the benefit of the DOC.
Example: A P&P Officer lives and works primarily in a remote county that is a significant distance
from the P&P Office that serves the county; parking the state vehicle in the remote county saves the
DOC in staff time and vehicle mileage to provide services to the county.

3. Parking Locations should be chosen for the safe and secure storage of the vehicle. Preferred Parking
Locations are DOC units, County Courthouses, and police or sheriff’s offices. State vehicles will not
be parked on residential streets or highways without approval of the State Fleet Administrator.

4. Travel directly between the Parking Location and the Base Point is considered a commute. The state
vehicle cannot be used for this purpose unless the employee is approved to commute.

a. Stopping at other locations in the trip between the Parking Location and the Base Point to conduct
legitimate DOC business constitutes travel and not a commute.
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b. Incidental stops not directly related to the employee’s work duties may not be planned for the sole
purpose of justifying travel between the Parking Location and Base Point.

D. The Director has authorized specific positions as eligible to commute in a state vehicle, see Attachment
1, Authorized Commuter List, but determining whether a specific trip is a commute can be complicated.

1. The following situations do not constitute commuting and thus are not required to be reported by any
person driving a state vehicle:

a. Living on State Property - An employee who lives on contiguous state property or nearby state
property that is less than one-half mile from the employee's official work station.

b. Temporary Duty Assignments - An employee who temporarily assumes the duties of a position
approved to commute and the employee is not permanently relocated.

c. Travel Status - An employee who plans to leave from their residence and go directly to a DOC
facility, office, or business appointment before going to the base point; or, for an employee who
returns from a business trip, official visit to another DOC facility, office or business appointment
after the close of the business day and goes directly home for the night before reporting the
following morning to the base point.

2. Travel directly between the Parking Location and the Base Point is considered a commute. The state
vehicle cannot be used for this purpose unless the employee is approved to commute and reports the
trip as a commute.

E. Rotating Duty

1. Employees serving on a rotating duty schedule are not eligible to commute in a state vehicle during
their duty period if they are not otherwise eligible.

2. Employees that are required to make extra trips to the base point outside their work schedule (including
adjustments) may be paid mileage for their personal vehicle in accordance with Operating Procedure
240.1, Travel.

3. Employees who are assigned a state vehicle for their regular duties will not be charged commute fees
for such extra trips to the base point.

F. Attachment 2, Examples of Parking Location and Commuting Status Determinations is provided as
interpretive guidance. Questions on application of this operating procedure should be resolved between
the employee and Organizational Unit Head with guidance from the DOC Fleet Manager and Deputy
Director for Administration as needed.

VI.  Reports and Forms

A. All reports and forms must be submitted to the General Services Unit, P. O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA
23261-6963.

B. Assistance can be obtained by calling (804) 887-8095.

REFERENCES
Executive Order 89 (2005) Purchase, Assignment and Use of State-Owned Vehicles
COV §2.2-1178, Use of passenger-type vehicles on an assigned basis

COV 8§2.2-1179, Use of vehicles for commuting

Operating Procedure 040.1, Litigation

Operating Procedure 240.1, Travel

Operating Procedure 323.1, Vehicle Operations and Maintenance

Operating Procedure 401.3, Administrative Duty Coverage

Office of Fleet Management Services (OFMS) Policies and Procedures Manual
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Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures (CAPP) Manual

ATTACHMENTS
Attachment 1, DOC Authorized Commuter List
Attachment 2, Examples of Parking Location and Commuting Status Determinations

FORM CITATIONS

Commuting Daily Log GS-1 323 F1

Commuting, Payroll Deduction Authorization GS-2 323 F2
Assignment of State Vehicle and Parking Location 323_F3
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