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I. PURPOSE

This operating procedure provides guidance for Department of Corrections compliance with the Code of
Virginia 89.1-900 et seq., which establishes the Virginia State Police Sex Offender and Crimes against
Minors Registry.

. COMPLIANCE

This operating procedure applies to all units operated by the Department of Corrections (DOC). Practices
and procedures shall comply with applicable State and Federal laws and regulations, Board of Corrections
policies and regulations, ACA standards, PREA standards, and DOC directives and operating procedures.

DEFINITIONS

All offenders convicted, confined, or under community supervision on or after July 1, 1994 for the
following offenses shall register and re-register in the Virginia State Police Sex Offender and Crimes
against Minors Registry.

Offenses requiring re-registration every 90 days:
Sexually Violent Offense - a violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-48(ii)(iii)  Abduction for immoral purposes or of a child for prostitution
Former 18.1-38

Former 18.1-39 (2)(3)

18.2-61 Rape

Former 18.1-44

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor between Victim ages 13-14, perpetrator 5 years older than
victim

18.2-67.1 Forcible sodomy

18.2-67.2 Object sexual penetration

18.2-67.3 Aggravated sexual battery

Former 18.1-215 Sexual Contact (Victim under 13)

18.2-67.4 Sexual battery where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and the victim is

under the age of 6
18.2-67.5(A)(B) Attempted rape, forcible sodomy, object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery
18.2-370 Taking indecent liberties with minor
Former 18.1-213 (1)(2)(4)
Former 18.1-214

18.2-370.1 Taking indecent liberties with minor by person in custodial or supervisory
relationship
18.2-374.1 Production, distribution, financing, etc. of child pornography

OR violation of:
Chapter 117 (18 USC 82421 et seq.) of Title 18 of the United States Code
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Or sex trafficking (18 USC §1591)

OR a second or subsequent conviction, where the offender was at liberty between such convictions, for
violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim ages 13-14)

18.2-64.1 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim 15 and older) supervisory relationship
18.2-67.2:1 Marital sexual assault (Statute repealed 2005)

18.2-90 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to rape

OR a second or subsequent conviction, where the individual was at liberty between such convictions and
where the victim is a minor or physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as defined in Code of
Virginia 818.2-67.10, for violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-47(A) Abduction

18.2-48(i) Abduction with the intent to extort money or pecuniary benefit
18.2-67.4 Sexual battery

18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery

18.2-361 Crimes against nature (sodomy)

18.2-366 Adultery and fornication by person forbidden to marry; incest

18.2-374.1:1(C) Possess child pornography

OR if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, and if the offender has been convicted or
adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided that offender had been at liberty
between such convictions or adjudications

18.2-91 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to commit any felony offense listed in 9.1-902

Offenses requiring annual re-registration:

Sexual offense - a violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:
18.2-31/18.2-32 Murder (Victim is under 15) or (Victim is 15-17 and murder is related to an offense
under 9.1-902)
Former 18.1-21

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim ages 13-14), if perpetrator is less than 5 years
older than victim

18.2-64.1 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim 15 and older), supervisory relationship

18.2-67.2:1 Marital sexual assault (Statute repealed 2005)

18.2-67.4 Sexual battery (3 or more convictions)

18.2-67.4:2 Sexual abuse of a child under 15 (3 or more convictions)

18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery (3 or more convictions)

18.2-90 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to rape

Former 18.1-88

18.2-370.6 Penetration of the mouth of a child with lascivious intent

18.2-374.1.1(B,C,D) Possession of child pornography

Former 18.2-374.1:1(D) Possession of child pornography (as it was in effect 7/1/94-6/30/07)

18.2-386.1 Unlawful filming, videotaping or photographing of another (3 or more convictions)

18.2-374.3(B,C,D) Use of communication systems to solicit a minor to violate 18.2-370, Indecent
liberties with a minor

Former 18.2-374.3(B)(iv)Use of communication systems to solicit a minor to violate 18.2-370, Indecent
liberties with a minor (as it was in effect 6/30/07)

18.2-67.5:1 Third misdemeanor sexual offense, Felony

OR if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, violation or attempted violation of Code of
Virginia, Sections:

18.2-91 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to commit any felony offense listed in §9.1-902
18.2-374.1:1(A) Possession of child pornography
18.2-67.5:1 Third misdemeanor sexual offense, Felony

OR where the victim is a minor or physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as defined in Code of
Virginia 8§18.2-67.10, violation or attempted violation Code of Virginia, Sections:
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18.2-47(A) Abduction
18.2-48(i) Abduction with the intent to extort money or pecuniary benefit
18.2-67.4 Sexual battery
18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery
18.2-361 Crimes against nature (sodomy)
18.2-366 Adultery and fornication by person forbidden to marry; incest

Former 18.1-119

OR any criminal homicide in conjunction with (when the offenses arise out of the same incident) a
violation of

18.2-371 (i) Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
18.2-371.1 Abuse and neglect of children

OR any offense similar to those listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of 89.1-902 under the laws of any
foreign country or any political subdivision thereof, the United States or any political subdivision thereof.

OR any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors registry is required
under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted.

PROCEDURE

A. Potential Registration While Incarcerated

1. Facilities should contact the Virginia State Police (VSP) to obtain the most current Virginia State
Police Registration Form (SP-236).

2. Facility Intake Registration Investigation

a. Reception staff must research each offender’s conviction history on intake to the DOC, including
out-of-state offenders serving Virginia sentences. If the offender has been convicted of an
offense that potentially requires registration, complete the Virginia State Police Registration
Form (SP-236) (using the correctional facility address), providing fingerprints (only thumbprints
are required if Virginia State Police database shows fingerprints are on file), palm prints (if
Virginia State Police database does not show palm prints are on file), and a photograph. ..

b. Refusal to complete SP-236 form
i. If an offender refuses to comply with any aspect of registration after being informed of their

potential responsibility to register with the Virginia State Police and of the penalty for failing
to do so, corrections staff shall enter required information.

ii. On the "signature of person registering” line, staff shall write "refused to sign" and enter the
signature of staff person completing the form.

iii. Staff shall distribute as indicated below for completed registration forms.

iv. Staff shall charge the offender with Offense Code 119d, Refusal to participate in required sex
offender/crimes against minors registration (Mandatory Penalty - 90 Days Loss of
Accumulated Good Time), and the offender shall be placed in a class level earning no good
time until such time as the offender complies with registration requirements.

¢. Upon completion of the SP-236:

i. The Facility Unit Head will designate facility staff responsible to enter the date of the
completion of the SP-236 form in VACORIS.

ii. The Department of Corrections’ copy shall be filed in (Section 1V) of the Hard Copy Record.

iii. The offender shall be given the offender copy.

iv. The Virginia State Police copy of the form, the fingerprint card, and photograph shall be
mailed to the Virginia State Police for further investigation.

d. Once the VSP receives the initial registration (SP-236 form), the VSP will evaluate the
registration to determine if the offender meets the registry requirement and the classification level
associated with the registration.

e. After evaluation, the VSP will send a letter to the facility with a copy for the offender listing the
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offender’s registry requirement and the classification level associated with the registration. The
facility copy shall be filed in (Section 1V) of the Hard Copy Record.

f. Offenders are not required to re-register while incarcerated until ready to discharge.

g. Offenders who have a legal name change are required to re-register under the new name. A copy
of the court order must be submitted with the State Police Registration Form (SP-236).

3. Facility Pre-Release Registration

a. The Facility Records Manager will notify designated staff of pending discharges of offenders
convicted of a crime that requires registration, as defined in Section Ill., above.

b. Prior to an offender’s release from incarceration, designated facility staff will review the
offender’s Hard Copy Record to determine if the Virginia State Police has provided a registry
requirement letter.

c. For offenders that have a registration on file with the Virginia State Police, ten days prior to the
offender’s release, designated facility staff shall assist the offender in completing the SP-236
form using the Home Plan address and employment.

d. For offenders that are potentially required to register, but there is no letter on file from the
Virginia State Police listing the offender’s registry requirement and the classification level
associated with the registration; a Virginia State Police Registration Form (SP-236) shall be
completed and submitted in accordance with the Facility Intake Registration Investigation section
of this operating procedure.

e. Refusal to register

i. If the offender refuses to comply with any aspect of registration after being informed of their
responsibility to register with the Virginia State Police, and of the penalty for failing to do so,
corrections staff shall enter required information.

ii. On the "signature of person registering" line, staff shall write, "Refused to sign" and enter the
signature of staff person completing the form.

iii. Staff shall distribute the form as indicated above for completed registration forms.

iv. Staff shall advise the offender that they are required to register within three days of release
from prison, or be subject to criminal prosecution.

v. The Virginia State Police shall be informed in writing of this offender's release and of the
offender's refusal to register. The Virginia State Police can be contacted at the following
addresses: Virginia Department of State Police, P. O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-
7472 or Sex.Offender.Notification@vsp.virginia.gov.

B. Offender Responsibility to Re-Register

1. Every person required to register shall register in person within three days of their release from
confinement in a state correctional facility. The local law-enforcement agency shall obtain from the
person who presents himself for registration or re-registration one set of fingerprints, electronic mail
address information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity
information that the person uses or intends to use, one set of palm prints, place of employment
information, motor vehicle, watercraft and aircraft registration, information for all motor vehicles,
watercraft and aircraft owned by the registrant, proof of residency, and a photograph of a type and
kind specified by the State Police for inclusion in the Registry and advise the person of their duties
regarding re-registration.

2. Offenders shall be advised of the requirement to re-register within three days after any change in
name; address; employment; motor vehicle, watercraft, and aircraft registration; or any new
convictions and to re-register within 30 minutes after any change in electronic mail or internet
identification. (COV §9.1-903)

3. Offenders registering due to a Sex Offense as defined in this operating procedure shall be required to
re-register until the duty to register and re-register is terminated by a court order as set forth in COV
§9.1-910.
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4. Per COV 89.1-908, any failure to re-register will cause the offender to need to re-register more
frequently and extend the period during which re-registration is required.

C. Registration under Community Supervision
1. Initial Registration

a. Only offenders receiving suspended sentences and offenders transferring from out-of-state with
requirements to register in their previous state or convictions that would require registration in
Virginia including Federal sex offenses should need initial registration while under supervision.

b. Initial registration including form SP-236, fingerprints, palm prints, photograph, and DNA

sample should be conducted at the local law enforcement agency or State Police within three days
of the offender being sentenced or establishing residence in Virginia.

2. Re-Registration

a. The registrant offender must report to the local law enforcement agency or State Police for re-
registration in accordance with the schedule above.

b. The P&P Officer or Community Corrections Facility staff are required to submit to the Virginia
State Police a Change of Address by Registered Sex Offender (SP-237) 735 _F11 forthwith upon
becoming aware of a registrant’s change in name, residence, employment, or school. The P&P
Officer shall notify the State Police forthwith upon learning of any change in electronic mail or
internet identification any probationer or parolee required to register.

c. The P&P Officer must physically verify the information on any registrant under supervision
including persons on Conditional Release from a state civil commitment program for sexually
violent predators. State Police will handle verification for non-DOC cases in the community.
Information to be verified includes:

i. Residence and any changes
ii. Employer and any changes
iii. School and any changes
d. Physical Verification includes professionally discreet and confidential efforts to determine the

truth and accuracy of the Registry information which must be documented and may include one
or more of the following:

i. Written documentation of residence, employment, or school and a personal visit with the
registrant at the location
ii. Written documentation of residence, employment, or school corroborated by a credible 3™
party.
iii. Personal visit to the location with the registrant
iv. Personal visit to the location with the reported information corroborated by a credible 3" party

e. Each case must be verified within 30 days of the official Registry change and every 180 days
thereafter.

f. The P&P Officer must document completed verification in the Sex Offender Verification System.

g. Physical Verification when the registrant’s work or school is out-of-District or out-of-state
i. The supervising P&P District in which the registrant resides has primary verification
responsibility. Other P&P Districts should assist swiftly as needed.
ii. The registrant must advise if he/she wishes to relocate and register upon arrival in the
receiving P&P District or State. He/she must register 10 days prior to relocating Out-of-State.
The receiving P&P District handles verification and the other State will follow up according to
its requirements.

V. REFERENCES
Virginia Department of State Police Form SP-236, Sex Offender and Crimes against Minors Registry
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VI. FORM CITATIONS
Change of Address by Registered Sex Offender (SP-237) 735 F11

VIl. REVIEW DATE

The office of primary responsibility shall review this operating procedure annually and re-write it no later
than three years from the effective date.

Signature Copy on File 2/25/14

A. David Robinson, Chief of Corrections Operations Date
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